Paraguay 2017

After breaking off the project “emigrating to Paraguay” for a while and spending a few months in Germany, I started a new attempt in early 2017. Now that I had the Paraguayan visa and spent a lot of time learning the Spanish language, I wanted to try again to gain a foothold in the country of my choice.

Back in Paraguay

This time I lived for more than half a year in Asuncion, the capital of Paraguay. Since I was already able to win friends from my first stay in Asuncion, settling in was much easier this time than the year before. In addition, I was now in the Paraguayan winter in South America, with “mild” 15 - 35 degrees.

In the summer of 2016, I was in Paraguay where we sometimes had several weeks at a time between 35 - 45 degrees. For a Central European an absolute ordeal, but also not very pleasant for the locals.

Pub Crawl Asuncion

I quickly became aware of the event “Pub Crawl”, which took place every Saturday. Here you join a group of mostly locals but also occasionally tourists, pay a one-time, relatively small amount and then go together in different bars and clubs. The perfect opportunity to quickly make new contacts and friendships.

The waterfalls in Foz do Iguacu

In the aforementioned Pub Crawl, I met a Paraguayan woman who told me that she would soon travel to Brazil (a neighboring country of Paraguay) to see the waterfalls in Foz do Iguacu. In addition to the Niagara Falls in North America, these waterfalls are the largest on the planet. When I asked her if I could accompany her on her journey, she did not think long. Impressions of this incredible natural spectacle can be seen in the pictures above.

Asuncion - Dia de todos los santos

The Day of the Saints (dia de todos los santos) is there to think about their fellow human beings and to do them something good. As I was already confronted for months with the comparatively high poverty that prevails in South America, I made a decision: I wanted to do something good for people I did not know and who lived on the street!

Since my immediate neighbor Carlos was a pizza maker, I asked him to bake 10 pizzas on the day “de todos los santos” so that I could distribute them to people living on the street. I went out with the pizzas together with a Paraguayan girlfriend and her sister. We searched for people who obviously lived on the street and gave them the pizzas. The pictures were taken at the top.

What moved me was the old woman in the pink top. She lived in a garbage heap on the sidewalk, near the bus station. When we handed her the pizza she had tears in her eyes. At that moment, I realized that in addition to giving people something to eat, it’s also about showing people who are disadvantaged, showing respect and giving them back some of their dignity. I took the next picture the next day as I drove past the bus station. It shows the place where the old lady “lives”.

After all 10 pizzas were distributed, I invited my two friends then also on a pizza.

Paraguay 2017

Nachdem ich das Vorhaben „Auswandern nach Paraguay“ vorerst abgebrochen hatte und einige Monate in Deutschland war, habe ich Anfang 2017 einen neuen Versuch gestartet. Da ich mittlerweile das paraguayische Visum besaß und viel Zeit in das Erlernen der spanischen Sprache investiert hatte, wollte ich einen neuen Versuch starten um in dem Land meiner Wahl Fuß zu fassen.

Zurück in Paraguay

Diesmal lebte ich über ein halbes Jahr lang in Asuncion, der Hauptstadt Paraguays. Da ich bereits Freunde von meinem ersten Aufenthalt in Asuncion gewinnen konnte, fiel mir die Eingewöhnung diesmal wesentlich leichter als im Jahr zuvor. Zudem war ich nun im paraguayischen Winter in Südamerika, bei „milden“ 15 – 35 Grad.

Im Jahr 2016 war ich im Sommer in Paraguay, wo wir teilweise mehrere Wochen am Stück zwischen 35 – 45 Grad hatten. Für einen Mitteleuropäer eine absolute Tortur, aber auch für die Einheimischen nicht sonderlich angenehm.

Pub Crawl Asuncion

Schnell wurde ich auf die Veranstaltung „Pub Crawl“ aufmerksam, die jeden Samstag stattfand. Hier schließt man sich einer Gruppe von zumeist Einheimischen aber auch vereinzelt Touristen an, zahlt einen einmaligen, relativ geringen Betrag und geht dann gemeinsam in verschiedene Bars und Clubs. Die perfekte Gelegenheit um schnell neue Kontakte und Freundschaften zu knüpfen.

The waterfalls in Foz do Iguacu

Bei dem oben erwähnten Pub Crawl habe ich eine Paraguayerin kennen gelernt, die mir erzählte, sie wolle demnächst nach Brasilien (also einem Nachbarland von Paraguay) reisen um sich dort die Wasserfälle in Foz do Iguacu anzusehen. Neben den Niagara Fällen in Nordamerika, sind diese Wasserfälle die größten auf dem Planeten. Als ich sie fragte ob ich sie auf ihrer Reise begleiten könne, überlegte sie nicht lange. Eindrücke dieses unglaublichen Naturschauspiels sieht man auf den Bildern oben.

Asuncion - Dia de todos los santos

Der Tag der Heiligen (dia de todos los santos) ist dazu da, um an seine Mitmenschen zu denken und ihnen etwas Gutes zu tun. Da ich ohnehin schon über Monate hinweg mit der vergleichsweise großen Armut die in Südamerika herrscht, konfrontiert war, fasste ich eine Entscheidung: Ich wollte Menschen die ich nicht kannte und die auf der Straße lebten, etwas Gutes tun!

Da mein direkter Nachbar Carlos ein Pizzabäcker war, beauftragte ich Ihn mir am Tag „de todos los santos“ 10 Pizzen zu backen, damit ich diese dann an auf der Straße lebende Menschen verteilen konnte. Die Pizzen fuhr ich gemeinsam mit einer paraguayischen Freundin und ihrer Schwester aus. Wir suchten nach Menschen die offensichtlich auf der Straße lebten und gaben Ihnen die Pizzen. Dabei sind die Bilder oben entstanden.

Was mich besonders bewegt hat war die alte Frau im rosa Oberteil. Sie lebte in einem Müllhaufen auf dem Gehweg, in der Nähe des Busbahnhofs. Als wir ihr die Pizza überreichten hatte sie Tränen in den Augen. Ich habe in diesem Moment realisiert, dass es neben der Tatsache Menschen etwas zu essen zu geben auch darum geht, Menschen die benachteiligt sind, Respekt zu zeigen und ihnen damit einen Teil ihrer Würde zurück zu geben. Das nächste Foto habe ich am folgenden Tag aufgenommen, als ich noch einmal am Busbahnhof vorbeifuhr. Es zeigt den Platz wo die alte Dame „wohnt“.

Nachdem alle 10 Pizzen verteilt waren, lud ich meine beiden Freundinnen dann ebenfalls auf eine Pizza ein.